Minted: a holiday card review

Every year I tell myself I’m going to slow down during the holiday season, and every year I feel like I fail. I actually love the hustle and bustle of this season, but I know that these years of gingerbread making with more icing on faces and fingers than on cookies, of the wonder of twinkling lights and hushed wishes of Christmas surprises and one ear tipped to the distant ring of a sleigh pulled by reindeer will someday be just memories of Christmases past. I put a lot of pressure on myself to wring every drop of magic from this season and then soak it all up. Every. Single. Second. And I never, ever, succeed.

So this year I’m looking for ways to streamline all those “chores” of the season in order to focus more on the magic of icing-tipped fingers and hot chocolate sipped fireside and after-bedtime drives to marvel at all those twinkling lights, which is why I was thrilled when Minted contacted me to check out their goods and share my thoughts. It was fate, really, because I already had some of Minted’s promotional mail pinned to my bulletin board to help remind me to order holiday cards:

Minted review

The foil pressed detail got me. You can’t tell in this pic but it’s shiny like tinsel.

I think, in my experience, most major card & stationery sites are comparable in terms of ease of use, and while Minted’s designs jumped out among the plethora of similar marketing I’ve received in my mailbox, it was the belief behind the company that made me want to support them.

“We believe that great design lives and thrives in the hands of independent artists that people do not have access to through traditional retailers. Minted uses technology to allow consumers to discover great creative talent, making Minted a place where artists can learn, gain exposure, and build their businesses.”

A business that supports indie artists? I’m in.

I haven’t decided on which photos to use for our cards yet, but I played around on the site using photos from my camera roll, quickly designing different cards and saving them to my profile. One thing I love about the site is that I can upload a photo and have it instantly displayed on every card on the grid so my options are all right in front of me.

Minted review

This definitely makes choosing a design much easier.

Minted review

Minted review

Every Minted card order includes thick stock paper, free recipient address printing for holiday cards, and a free personalized digital proof of your card within one business day of your order. Plus, if you order today you get 15% off + free shipping on all holiday cards, so scoot.

I have to point out that Minted has more than just cards. Take a peek at their art prints (love!), business cards, wedding invitations, journals, etc. They even have fabric by the yard. I’ve been searching for the perfect fabric for a bench in a reading nook I’m creating for the kids, but I want something a little quirky and modern that will work with both boys and girls and grow with them. The selection on Minted fits the bill perfectly.

Happy shopping!

*Disclosure: I received a merchandise credit for writing this review of Minted’s website. All thoughts, opinions, photos, and grammatical errors are solely mine.

3 thoughts on “Minted: a holiday card review

Leave a Reply

