A perfectly average New Year’s Day

Do you feel it too? The buzzing energy of a new year? Clear and bright and brand-new? I get the feeling something miraculous is going to happen.

It won’t, and that’s okay.

That’s life.

Dear New Year’s Day, a day that could be any day, any Average Day,

Let me not dismiss the gift that you are. Let me collect joy in your golden hours and honor you in the inky silence of sleepless nights. Let me grasp the miracle of now and not pine for the promise of tomorrow or someday. After all, we were never promised any day after today. Let me continually rediscover magic in the little moments — chocolate stained fingers and toppling Lego towers and books sprawled across unmade beds and someone’s sleepy breath on my neck — as though living them for the first time. And when I fall into bed at night, exasperated at having accomplished nothing that day, let me remember these moments, because someday my Average Day will be quieter, calmer, more serene. And I will wish like mad to hold this day again. This perfectly average New Year’s Day that could be any day.

I’ve been contemplating a word, THE word, my One Little Word (#olw) for 2014 over the past few days but no one word has felt authentic. Then last night as I was scrolling through Instagram, I came upon something written by Mother Teresa that embodies everything I want to keep in mind for this year:

May today there be peace within.

My you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be.

May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith.

May you use those gifts that you have received, and pass on the love that has been given to you…

May you be content knowing you are a child of God…

Let this presence settle into your bones, and allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love.

It is there for each and every one of us.

Here’s to peace, love and light in 2014…each and everyone of us.

IMG_20131201_100812 IMG_20131201_094843 IMG_20131116_093818 196 IMG_20131219_115731 IMG_20131216_104909-1 20131206_093151

10 thoughts on “A perfectly average New Year’s Day

  1. lemead says:

    Happy new year. Love this celebration of ordinary. For the last two years no word has presented itself to me, and I’m trying to embrace THAT fact!

    • Lara Dotlich Anderson says:

      Thanks, Lindsey. Happy new year to you too. I have trouble with one word descriptions anyway. My daughter’s kindergarten teacher asked parents for a one word description of their child at the start of last year — I was stumped! I couldn’t possibly sum her up in one word, much like I couldn’t sum up everything I hope to accomplish, change, move forward with, etc. for this year. I wouldn’t worry about the lack of a Word. You spin words so beautifully – I wouldn’t want you to confine yourself to just one!

  2. crnnoel says:

    Your daughter looks angelic in that first picture! Beautiful. Happy New Year… I love the words of Mother Teresa. Sometimes one word just won’t cut it.

  3. Heidi says:

    Lara, this is perfect. I’m so glad you found what resonated with you. Embracing those seemingly mundane moments of life are really what life is all about. The highs, the lows, they are there, too, and they are important. But the breadth and depth of our existence and growth resides within the lego towers, unmade beds, and sweaty, sleepy head on our shoulders. Happy New Year, friend. xo

Leave a Reply

