Click-clacking through the day

It is 2:30 in the afternoon. I began today by waking up at 4:30 this morning to write. I was productive, though not so much with writing story, but with character development. I got the kids up afterward, got Mia off to school and then went for a run and a stop by the grocery store. I gave the boys lunch and put them down for a nap. I’ve done laundry and dishes. I have to pick Mia up from school at 4:20 and it’s quite possible that the boys will sleep until we have to leave, which gives me almost two more free hours. I want to spend this time writing, but I can’t seem to get into it. For a few reasons.

One. Mia pleaded to wear her cowgirl boots today (“I really love the way they click-clack down the hallway. I sound like a lady wearing high heels.”) But the forecast said rain so I made her wear rainboots. The sun has been shining all day without apology. It’s silly, but I can’t get it out of my head — how I wish she could have click-clacked her way through the day.

Two. Is it just me, or is there something about this time of day? My mind is scattered, unable to focus. I’m learning more and more that I prefer the early morning darkness for writing, but I don’t want to be a writer who can work only in the morning, or only at night, or only when the temperature is just so. I don’t want to wait for the time to be right, I want to command whatever time I have to my benefit. But lately, once I stop writing after those early morning hours, I let it go. I forget to begin again. And maybe, for now, this is okay. After all, living is still writing if you’re paying attention and asking the right questions.

Three. This space is on my mind. I need to devote more time to this space. I want to devote more time to this space. I’m figuring out how and when to do this. Until then, if you hear someone click-clacking down the hallway, it’s only me tap-tapping through an unbearably bright day.

Happy hump day.

xoxo,

Lara

5 thoughts on “Click-clacking through the day

  1. now at home mom says:

    🙂 I really hope you will find a way to be able to focus and to write at any time of the day because waking up at 4:30 in the morning must have been difficult, yet you were still productive, you did a lot of things 🙂
    wish you a beautiful weekend Lara

  2. Julia says:

    I don’t know how to do it either, and I especially wouldn’t with twins! It’s so hard to push aside the daily to-do lists during the kids’ nap time and just sit down and write. I know that if I don’t, though, I start to feel incomplete. I think the love of writing will always pull us back.

  3. scribblechic says:

    I find the quiet hours of early morning are the easiest for me to hear my own ramblings and the hardest to keep sacred from interruptions. Perhaps I must set my clock back to an earlier time. It sounds as if you have fostered a sense of balance and carved out an intimate space in your day for your thoughts. Good luck!

  4. Maurice A. Barry says:

    Ha–the 4:30 wake-up sounds familiar…from my past, Through the nineties and up until around 10 years ago I supplemented my income by writing for Nelson Thompson Learning and Addison Wesley (now Pearson Education). My kids were much younger then and I generally found it necessary to get the writing done as early as possible since regular work and being “Dad” took precedence. Don’t do that much any more and don’t really miss it but still prefer to do my best work in the morning.

Leave a Reply

