J.Crew, Tabitha Simmons and “shiny ponies” envy

We took the kids down to my in-laws yesterday. They live about an hour and a half away so I took advantage of this time to catch up on magazine/catalog reading. I came across the CFDA/Vogue winner and runners-up in the newest J.Crew catalog and fell in love with Tabitha Simmons’ shoe line for J.Crew.

Ms. Simmons says, “When I design, I always have a certain woman in mind–she’s elegant, a touch whimsical, a touch romantic and also practical.”

Which is exactly how I would describe my sense of style. When I’m not chasing toddlers, or wiping up spilled orange juice on my hands and knees, or wearing shorts artistically styled with paint and marker streaks because I haven’t had time to do my own laundry. Which is to say, the only time I embody Ms. Simmons’ aesthetic is in my dreams. Still. I can dream, and that I will.

Tabitha Simmons CFDA / Vogue J.Crew

Shop the collection here.

In my eyes, J.Crew can do no wrong when it comes to shoes. (Okay, in my eyes, J.Crew can do no wrong PERIOD.) If you’re still not convinced, watch this video of J.Crew’s creative director, Jenna Lyons, on her “shiny ponies”.

Also, check out CFDA/Vogue winner the elder statesman and runner-up Jennifer Meyer (yes, that Jennifer Meyer).

Happy Monday!

 

2 thoughts on “J.Crew, Tabitha Simmons and “shiny ponies” envy

Leave a Reply

