Happy (Random) Friday

We woke up to a thin blanket of snow this morning, just enough to cover the ground. Mia was thrilled. There’s something enchanting about snow falling in the half-light of sunrise. Apparently I was so enchanted that I forgot to make Mia’s lunch for school. She picked up her backpack as she was hurrying out the door and said, “Wow, this is really light. Is my lunch in here?” Oops.

I’ve been in a creative mood today, or more accurately, I’ve been thinking about the creative process. (*Thinking is the key word here. The most creative thing I’ve actually accomplished today is magically removing blueberry stains from shirts of the two messiest toddlers ever in existence.) In this vein, there are a few things I want to share with you in this random post.

The first is this Kurt Vonnegut quote because I love Kurt Vonnegut and also because it’s a coping mechanism that I want to instill in my children, that creating something, or immersing themselves in the creative process, can make life’s tougher obstacles more bearable. The best way to learn is by doing, and when you create something you almost always learn something new about yourself.

“Go into the arts. I’m not kidding. The arts are not a way to make a living. They are a very human way of making life more bearable. Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven’s sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possibly can. You will get an an enormous reward. You will have created something.”
– Kurt Vonnegut

Next on the list is this Doris Day song, I Got the Sun in the Morning. Perhaps you’ve heard of it? I used to play it for Mia when she was little (littler) and we would rock out (as much as one can rock out to Doris Day). At some point along the way, we stopped listening to it. Not sure what it has to do with the creative process, but I randomly remembered it yesterday and haven’t been able to get it out of my head since.

 

And finally, this video by the creative genius, Oliver Jeffers. *I tried and tried to embed the video but it just would not work with me, so here’s the link. Watch it! It’s worth it.

Oliver Jeffers Author Video

Has your Friday been as random as mine? Cheers to the weekend!

Leave a Reply

